AIDS Research Foundation, amfAR to Honour Scarlett Johansson and Donatella Versace

AIDS Research Foundation, amfAR to Honour Scarlett Johansson and Donatella Versace

amfarOn February 8, 2017, AIDS foundation, amfAR will hold its annual New York Gala at Cipriani Wall Street to kick off New York Fashion Week. The 19th annual event will be hosted by actress, writer, and director Lena Dunham and will feature a dinner, live auction, musical performance by Grammy-nominated Ellie Goulding, and pay tribute to long-standing supporters Scarlett Johansson and Donatella Versace.

Charitable efforts by Scarlett Johansson include songs with her band Sugar for Sugar featured on the amfAR benefit album called “The Time is Now”. Donatella Versace herself has also attended multiple amfAR events over the years and continuously supports the foundation.  Event Chairs include high-profile celebrities such as, Woody Allen and Soon-Yi Previn, Steve Buscemi, Naomi Campbell, Alan Cumming, Lady Gaga, Iman, Elton John, David Furnish, and Heidi Klum, among others.

Founded in 1985, amfAR has been dedicated towards ending the global AIDS epidemic through support of AIDS research, HIV prevention, and treatment education. The foundation has invested more than $450 million in its programs and has awarded more than 3,300 grants to research teams worldwide. They have also been involved in the development of new treatments, prevention methods, vaccines, clinical studies, and international support. Additionally, amfAR initiated the TREAT Asia (Therapeutics Research, Education, and AIDS Training) program, which involves a network of clinics, hospitals, research institutions, and civil society working to ensure safe and effective delivery of HIV treatments across the Asia-Pacific.

The amfAR Gala is one of New York City’s most successful AIDS benefits and has included honourees such as President Bill Clinton, Dame Elizabeth Taylor, Kenneth Cole, Diane von Furstenberg, Yves Carcelle, Sir Elton John, Clive Davis, Richard Gere, Whoopi Goldeberg, Tom Hanks, Janet Jackson, Quincy Jones, Donna Karan, Heidi Klum, Harvey Weinstein, Liza Minnelli, Rosie O’Donnell, Barbara Walters, Robin Williams and Anna Wintour.

The amfAR New York Gala is produced by Andrew Boose/AAB Productions.

To learn more about amfAR and the amfAR Foundation, visit